Isle of Man Island Games 2023

IOM Men's Squad for Guernsey named

ECAP Isle of Man Men’s Team Manager, Blane Slattery, has named his 20-man squad for July’s Island Games in Guernsey.

The final squad is Adam Killey, Glenn Walker, Stewart Smith, Phil Kelly, Cameron Avery, Jamie Callister, Chris Cannell, Matthew Woods, Morgan Naylor, Robbie Ward, Tiernan Garvey, Ronan McDonnell, Kyle Watson, Brody Patience, Chris Bass Jr, Ryan Gartland, Danny Gerrard, Josh Ridings, Daniel Pickering, Jay Chatwood.

Slattery was appointed in September 2021, but due to the pandemic, opportunities to play fixtures have been limited to a friendly match against Airbus last July, which ended 2-2, and a charity match vs FC Isle of Man last December. 

Slattery says they’re facing time constraints as the IOMFA leagues and cups will likely run until late May: ‘By the time the 2022/23 season wraps up we’ll be into the Isle of Man TT period. We’ll have a five-to-six-week block before the start of the Island Games so we’ve made the decision that a block of intensive training – two to three times a week – is the better use of time.’

Slattery will be supported by coaches Juan Watney, Ben Qualtrough and Karl Gartland, though Qualtrough will not travel to Guernsey. The ECAP Isle of Man Men’s Team have been drawn with Ynys Mon, the Falkland Islands and Shetland in Group 2, and will kick-off their campaign on Sunday 9th July.

Slattery continued: ‘I'm really happy with the mix of the squad - there is a great combination of tournament experience, raw potential, and leadership. I'm confident that this group can do themselves justice and have a good run at the Island Games. I wish all the lads involved the best for the rest of the Manx season, and that they all stay injury free.’

Football wasn’t featured in the last Island Games in Gibraltar in 2019, but Ynys Mon hosted a replacement tournament from which the Isle of Man Men’s Team brought home bronze medals. After losing to Guernsey 3-2 in the semi-final, they went on to score five without reply versus Shetland in the 3rd/4th play-off. Ynys Mon claimed the gold medal spot with a 2-1 win over Guernsey in the final.