Gareth Cowin Memorial Tournament 2017

The Isle of Man Special Olympics Football team travelled to Gibraltar to take part in the 4th Annual Gareth Cowin Memorial Tournament.

Working in close partnership with the Isle of Man Football Association, the team of special footballers comprised of the following players: Tom Hall (Captain ), Mark Dobinson, Owen Langton, David Hudson, Liam McCarthy, Lawrence Dyer, Jamie Comaish and Ben Mowle.

Frank Stennett IOMFA CEO commented “This was the 4th Gareth tournament and was hosted by Gibraltar Special Olympics in conjunction with Gibraltar FA. We have established very strong friendships in Gibraltar, and once again, they proved excellent hosts to ourselves and the other two competing teams, namely Warrington Wolves and Algeciras from Spain. I would particularly thank Annie Risso the National Director of Special Olympics Gibraltar, who quite simply, has a heart of gold and ensured our stay was so enjoyable and memorable. Our considerable thanks also go to all the volunteers at the Retreat Hostel and for all the many volunteers that helped make the tournament proceed so smoothly at the Tercentenary Sports Hall at the Victoria Sports Complex. Our thanks also go to Richard Manning from Gibraltar FA and all his colleagues for hosting the after match function at the Gibraltar Manchester United Supporters Club.


On the playing front we lost our opening match to a very strong Gibraltar team 1-0 and then beat Algeciras 4-0 (goals from Mark Dobinson, Jamie Comaish, Liam McCarthy and Lawrence Dyer). In our final game we lost 5-3 against Warrington Wolves, in a very entertaining end to end game.


The final saw Gibraltar winning the tournament against Warrington Wolves. Gibraltar will once again host the tournament in 2018.


Proceedings at the Gareth Cowin Tournament concluded with a speech from Mr Dennis Lafferty Chairman of Special Olympics Gibraltar who thanked everyone for playing in the true spirit of Special Olympics and all the officials who had refereed the tournament so well.


Finally Kevin Cowin made a brief speech of thanks to all that had contributed to a fantastic tournament and then presented the trophy to the 2017 winners – the Gibraltar Special Olympics team.


Beryl Woolridge Special Olympics National Director Isle of Man further commented “ I would just like to reiterate what wonderful hosts Gibraltar are and we look forward to returning next year with hopefully more teams taking part in the tournament.  It was very unfortunate that the Liverpool team didn’t make it due to Monarch airlines cancelling their flights this year.”